Florida law defines driving under the influence as either being obviously impaired behind the wheel or having measured blood alcohol content above 0.08%. The state imposes significant fines as well as jail time for DUI convictions.
Learn more about the potential penalties for DUI offenses in Florida.
First DUI offense
If you have never had a DUI before and receive a conviction, the judge can order these penalties:
- Fine of $500 to $1,000, or $1,000 to $2,000 in the presence of extenuating circumstances (either a minor in the vehicle at the time of the arrest or BAC exceeding 0.15%)
- Up to six months in jail (nine months for extenuating circumstances)
- 10-day vehicle impoundment
- License revocation for at least 180 days and up to one year
Second DUI offense
For a second DUI, potential penalties increase as follows:
- Fine of $1,000 to $2,000, or $2,000 to $4,000 in the presence of extenuating circumstances
- Mandatory 10-day prison sentence for second offense within five years, with a maximum prison term of nine months (12 months for extenuating circumstances)
- 30-day vehicle impoundment for second offense within five years
- Minimum five-year license revocation with work license available after one year
Third DUI offense
A third DUI offense within 10 years of the initial offense carries these increased penalties:
- Fine of $2,000 to $5,000, with a minimum fine of $4,000 in the presence of extenuating circumstances
- Mandatory 30-day prison sentence, with a maximum prison term of 12 months and 90-day vehicle impoundment
- Minimum 10-year license revocation with work license available after two years
In addition to these general sentencing guidelines, penalties can vary widely based on the circumstances of your case. For example, if an accident resulted in serious bodily injury, you could receive up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Some offenders can attend a residential drug treatment program that provides credit toward a prison sentence for DUI.