The penalties for drug convictions depend a great deal on what drug a person has. There are five schedules of controlled substances in the Florida Statutes.

The law provides a detailed list of the drug types that fall into each category.

Schedule I

A person who receives a charge involving a Schedule I substance cannot claim that he or she possessed the drug for a medicinal use because all drugs in this category have no accepted medical usage in the U.S. The list of Schedule I drugs is long and includes fentanyl and its derivatives, hallucinogenic substances such as LSD and mescaline, and heroin.

Schedule II

Some Schedule II substances have a medical use, but due to their addicting nature and potential for abuse, that use comes with severe restrictions. These drugs include raw, powdered and granulated opium, codeine, oxycodone, methadone and morphine. Cocaine is also a Schedule II substance.

Schedule III

These drugs have a much lower risk of addiction and abuse, and they also have an accepted use in treatment. Anabolic steroids fall into this category, as do derivatives of barbituric acid such as buprenorphine, a drug used to treat pain or addiction to narcotics, and chlorhexadol, which is a sedative.

Schedule IV

With an even lower potential for abuse than Schedule III drugs, Schedule IV drugs also have an accepted medical use. Doctors often prescribe these types of drugs for people with nervous disorders or insomnia.

Schedule V

Doctors typically prescribe drugs in the Schedule V category to treat conditions that cause seizures or nerve pain. For example, people with shingles or fibromyalgia may receive a prescription for a Schedule V drug. However, if someone possesses a Schedule V substance without a prescription, he or she will still face drug charges.